Tags

, , , , ,

Chapter header

I used to think that migraines were the man-flu equivalent of headaches – people only complained of them when they wanted sympathy, when what they really needed was to take some paracetamol and stop complaining. How wrong I was.

An inner ear infection coupled with a sleepless night (pun sort of intended) left me with the most excruciating and persistent pain I’ve experienced in years. I could feel my pulse in my eyes, which felt as though they were being forced out of their sockets from the inside. My vision went fuzzy. Worst of all, my balance was shot – I couldn’t take more than six paces without falling over, and spent a day clinging to my bed, waiting for the house to stop swaying.

This is a roundabout way of telling you that this week’s post is a little shorter than usual, as I’m still recovering.

Chapter Arts Centre, Cardiff

Chapter arts centre, Cardiff

Luckily, I was able to make it to the Sleepless Knights launch party before the ill-effects set in. I’ve only been to a handful of book launches in my time, but this was far and away the most enjoyable, thanks in part to the free cake but mostly to the large and enthusiastic crowd of supporters who descended upon Cardiff’s Chapter arts centre on Saturday 3rd August.

Mark gave a reading which was very well received and signed copies of the book, which sold steadily throughout the evening. The party then moved downstairs to the bar, where I had the chance to catch up with Chris Teague of Pendragon Press and make a few new acquaintances.

The 'Sleepless Knights' book launch

A good crowd for Mark’s reading

All told, it was a fun and convivial launch for a book that deserves to do well. If you haven’t listened to my interview with its author, Mark H. Williams, now’s your chance. And don’t forget that I’ll be interviewing his editor and publisher, Ian Alexander Martin of Atomic Fez in this month’s episode of Bell, Book & Podcast.

Mark H. Williams reading 'Sleepless Knights'

Mark H. Williams

The last episode has been available for a week now and, while I’m happy with the download figures so far, I appreciate that I could have done more to make it more easily accessible in more formats. Consequently, I’ve submitted it to various aggregators and internet radio groups and you can now find Bell, Book & Podcast at the following places:

It should also be available via TuneIn Radio (an internet radio and podcast source, similar to Stitcher Radio) within a week or so. And I’m assured it’s already on Zune, but I’ll be damned if I can find it.

My other plan is to create a static page dedicated to the podcast here at the blog. If I can get WordPress and my hosting service to cooperate, the aim is to embed a multimedia player that will automatically update with each new episode of the podcast, as it’s released, so you’ll be able to find everything in one place. That means negotiating some HTML 5 though, so we’ll see how it goes.

Until then, I’m still keen to hear your feedback, so leave a comment below or use the ‘Contact Me’ form in the About This Blog page.

